MESA USA National Engineering Design Competition

Arduino Based Solutions for Humans

The MESA National Engineering Design Competition will bring together the top middle and high school MESA teams from around the nation to showcase projects that used a Human-Centered Design Approach to develop an Arduino based solution to meet the needs of their human client.

June 19 - 21, 2019
The University of Arizona
Tucson, Arizona

Competition Overview:

The National Engineering Design Competition, Arduino Based Solutions for Humans, asks students to implement the Human-Centered Design approach to find a client in your community who has a need, engineer a solution for this need using Arduino as the key component, and present therr solution and recommendation(s) for next steps at the MESA USA National Engineering Design Competition. 

The components listed below will be used to assess the effective implementation of a Human-Centered Design approach, effective implementation of the Engineering Design Process, the functionality of the prototype, and successful integration of Arduino as the main component of the prototype.

  1. Technical Presentation & Interview
  2. Poster & Symposium
  3. Project Report
  4. Prototype Pitch

Competition Documents:

 

 

Registration information for the National Competition should  be available in May

The following documents should be used to train volunteer judges. Theses documents have been designed to provide judges a standard from which to work from when assigning scores. If you have any questions feel free to contact the NEDC Rules Committee Chair, Manny Leon, at leon@arizona.edu

If you have questions about the Specifications prior to your local events please reach out to your state representative below. Questions about specifications for the National Event should be directed to the NEDC Rules Committee Chair, Manny Leon, at leon@arizona.edu

Arizona - Manny Leon, leon@arizona.edu

California - Carlos Gonzalez, carlosg@engr.ucr.edu

Maryland - Jason Cartwright, jason.cartwright@jhuapl.edu

Nevada - Rebecca Fisher, mesa@unr.edu

New Mexico - Anita Gonzales, anita@nmmesa.org

Oregon - Tamara Depue, depue@pdx.edu

Pennsylvania - Victoria Carberry, victoria.carberry@temple.edu

Utah - Dr. Paul Ross, buffyross@msn.com

Washington - Debbie Blas, debbie.blas@wsu.edu